Denver Office

Division of Water Resources

Main Office

1313 Sherman St., Suite 821
Denver, CO 80203

Main Phone: (303) 866-3581 (8am-5pm M-F) - Voice messages returned daily

Groundwater Information: (303) 866-3587 (9am-4pm M-F) - Currently unavailable

This Section provides leadership to assist staff in meeting the division's public mission.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
State Engineer Kevin Rein Kevin.Rein@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8239
Deputy State Engineer Mike Sullivan Mike.Sullivan@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8202
Deputy State Engineer - Water Supply & Litigation Tracy Kosloff Tracy.Kosloff@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8211

This section manages the Division's Accounting and Budget Processes. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief Financial Officer (Budget Director) Brianna Franco Brianna.Franco@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8285
Budget Analyst Sara Trent Sara.Trent@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8213
Purchasing Agent Elena Young Elena.Young@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8203
Program Assistant Laura Kalafus Laura.Kalafus@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8220

This section consists of two units; the Design Review and Construction Inspection Unit and the Dam Safety Engineering Unit.  The two principal duties of the team are to determine the safe storage level of the reservoir dams in the state and to approve the plans and specifications for the construction and repair of Jurisdictional dams. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Dam Safety Bill McCormick Bill.McCormick@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8262
Design Review Engineer Jeremy Franz Jeremy.Franz@state.co.us (970) 231-6990
Dam Safety Engineer, Division 1 Jim Kirch Jim.Kirch@state.co.us (614) 975-2623

This section provides hydrogeologic expertise helpful to the State Engineer in administering Colorado surface water and groundwater.  The staff collect and publish hydrogeologic data for Colorado aquifers including groundwater-level data. The section also works with the Board of Examiners of Water Well Construction and Pump Installation Contractors to enforce well construction standards, protecting Colorado's vital and limited groundwater resources and public health.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Hydrogeology Matt Sares Matt.Sares@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8290
Hydrogeologist, Senior Kevin Donegan Kevin.Donegan@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8221
Hydrogeologist Andrew Flor Andrew.Flor@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8218
Hydrogeologist Ashley Lennon Ashley.Lennon@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8283

This section provides real-time gauging station data for lakes, reservoirs, ponds, rivers, streams and canals throughout Colorado and published stream flow data. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Hydrography & Satellite Monitoring Matt Hardesty Matt.Hardesty@state.co.us (719) 588-2329

This section provides public hearings for State Engineer and Ground Water Cases. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Hearings Officer Jody Grantham Jody.Grantham@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8288

This section provides digital access to records and associated data to the public via online tools. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Records Manager Matthew DePue Matthew.DePue@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8289
Technician III Yolanda Johnson Yolanda.Johnson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8228
Technician III Jen McKinney Jennean.McKinney@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8236
Technician II Jim Curry James.Curry@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8215
Technician II Ariana Tabuyo Ariana.Tabuyo@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8284
Technician I Erica Gutierrez Erica.Gutierrez@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8293

This section works with the Republican River Basin Groundwater Team as well as represents the Ground Water Commission. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Republican River Basin Team (representing the Ground Water Commission) Chris Grimes Chris.Grimes@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8253

This section makes research tools and information available online at no cost to the public. Research tools include Tabular Data Query Tools, which return textual data, and Mapping Tools, which use a GIS interface to retrieve data, display it, and allow analysis.  Water data pulled from DWR's HydroBase includes streamflows, lake levels, water rights, diversion records, administrative calls, well permit applications, etc.  These tools also display associated images and documents. 

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Water Information Doug Stenzel Doug.Stenzel@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8292
Information Process Coordinator Laura Nelsen Laura.Nelsen@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8210
GIS Program Coordinator Chris Brown Chris.K.Brown@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8256
GIS Analyst Alison Keener Alison.Keener@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8268
HydroBase Coordinator John Rodgers John.Rodgers@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8267
Technology & Improvement Coordinator Kevin Ellis Kevin.F.Ellis@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8275
Senior Modeler Kelley Thompson Kelley.Thompson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8261
Lead Modeler Ashenafi Hydebo Ashenafi.Hydebo@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8248

The Water Supply teams are responsible for review and evaluation of water well permit applications, substitute water supply plans, water court applications, county land-use referrals, replacement plans and changes of water rights within Designated Basins, and other related duties.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Water Supply, Designated Basins Keith Vander Horst Keith.VanderHorst@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8266
Chief of Water Supply, Outside Designated Basins Jeff Deatherage Jeff.Deatherage@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8244

This team is responsible for water supply activities in that portion of the South Platte River Basin that includes the Denver Basin aquifer system, including the review and evaluation of water well permit applications, substitute water supply plans, water court applications, county land-use referrals, and other related duties.  This team is also responsible for Determination of Water Rights, Replacement Plans, and other related applications, within that portion of the Designated Basins that includes the Denver Basin aquifer system.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Team Leader, Denver Basins Water Resources Engineer Joanna Williams Joanna.Williams@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8265
Water Resources Engineer Ioana Comaniciu Ioana.Comaniciu@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8246
Water Resources Engineer Ailis Thyne Ailis.Thyne@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8216
Water Resources Engineer Wenli Dickinson Wenli.Dickinson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8206
Engineering/Physical Science Technician Debbie Gonzales Debra.Gonzales@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8247

This team is responsible for water supply activities within the portion of the South Platte River Basin outside of the Denver Basin aquifer system, including the review and evaluation of water well permit applications, substitute water supply plans, water court applications, county land-use referrals, replacement plans and changes of water rights within Designated Basins, and other related duties.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Team Leader, Outside Denver Basin/Water Resources Engineer Sarah Brucker Sarah.Brucker@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8249
Water Resources Engineer Rick Nielsen Rick.Nielsen@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8237
Water Resources Engineer Javier Vargas-Johnson Javier.VargasJohnson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8227
Engineering/Physical Science Technician Chris Grimes Chris.Grimes@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8253
Engineering/Physical Science Technician Brianna Krauser Brianna.Krauser@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8224
Engineering/Physical Science Assistant III Anitia Archuleta Anitia.Archuleta@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8217

This team is responsible for water supply activities within the Arkansas, Rio Grande, San Juan, Animas, and Dolores River Basins, including the review and evaluation of water well permit applications, substitute water supply plans, water court applications, county land-use referrals, and other related duties.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Team Leader, Team 2,3,7    Water Resources Engineer Melissa van der Poel Melissa.Vanderpoel@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8208
Water Resources Engineer Kate Fuller Kate.Fuller@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8245
Water Resources Engineer Ivan Franco Ivan.Franco@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8243
Physical Science/Research Scientist John Gabert John.Gabert@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8286
Engineering/Physical Science Technician Shannon Porter Shannon.Porter@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8204

This team is responsible for water supply activities within the Colorado, Gunnison, Yampa, White, and North Platte River Basins, including the review and evaluation of water well permit applications, substitute water supply plans, water court applications, county land-use referrals, and other related duties.

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Team Leader, Team 4,5,6     Water Resources Engineer Megan Sullivan Megan.Sullivan@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8212
Water Resources Engineer Mike Bender Mike.Bender@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8264
Physical Science/Research Scientist Justina Mickelson Justina.Mickelson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8232
Engineering Physical Science Technician Geoff Davis Geoffrey.Davis@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8223
Permit Services Assistant Alex Teitz Alex.Teitz@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8273

This section provides support to the Board of Examiners (BOE) and DWR Staff including complaint investigation, rules enforcement and education, verification of proper construction, plugging and abandonment of wells. The BOE has supervision and authority over the construction and abandonment of wells and the installation of pumping equipment, revision of rules, and contractor licensing. Well Inspection includes protection of the ground water resources and public health through enforcement of minimum well construction and pump installation standards.   

Job Title Full Name E-Mail Address Business Phone
Chief of Well Inspection Doug Stephenson Douglas.Stephenson@state.co.us (303) 866-3581 Ext. 8270
Well Inspector, Divisions 1 & 2 Chris Jones Chris.Jones@state.co.us (720) 618-9982
Well Inspector, Division 3 Larry Hakes Larry.Hakes@state.co.us (719) 588-8142