Division Offices

Division Offices by Major River Basin(s)

The Colorado Division of Water Resources Division Offices are located in the seven major river basins throughout the state.  Division Offices employ Water Commissioners to ensure that the water rights priority system is followed, enforcing the decrees and water laws of the State of Colorado.  Other Division Office staff manage use and measurement rules to ensure that Colorado remains in compliance with interstate and interbasin agreements.  Hydrographers in these offices measure streamflow and reservoir levels and manage the state-wide satellite monitoring system. Hydrogeologists analyze well logs and measure well levels to determine aquifer characteristics, while Dam safety engineers verify the safety of Colorado's dams and inspect dam construction projects.